Wednesday, July 25, 2018

Reverend Freakchild new album release 'Dial It In'..blues based with a "psychedelic folk rock" flavor

Reverend Freakchild features a few friends on his latest record, "Dial It In." Chris Parker (Bob Dylan, Joe Cocker, Paul Butterfield Blues Band, John Hammond Jr.) lends his skills on the skins, providing beats for all the tracks.

The Rev. is joined on Track 2 by Hugh Pool (who also recorded and mixed the album) on harmonica, rocking the country blues of "Jesus on the Mainline" into the modern age with a new raw blues version of Depeche Mode’s "Personal Jesus." On Track 3, the Rev is joined by Mark Karan (Bob Weir, Ratdog) on lead guitar for an original sorrowful San Francisco lament, "Hippie Bluesman Blues." On Track 4, Garrett Dutton (G Love and Special Sauce) blows harmonica and sings backing vocals with the amazing Hazel Miller, adding a hint of hip-hop to make for a soulful sounding infectious title track. On Track 8, Brian Mitchell (B.B. King, Levon Helm, Al Green) tickles the ivories, and on Track 9, Jay Collins (Greg Allman) gets a little jazzy with the Bob Dylan epic, adding a Morphine-type tone with tenor and baritone saxes. The Rev. then brings it back home and pays tribute to Blind Willie Johnson with a version of "Soul of a Man," adding a few new verses. The whole album is blues based but with a bit of, as Jorma Kaukonen says, a "psychedelic folk rock" flavor.

This project was recorded at Excello studios in Brooklyn, to 2-inch tape and mixed to 1-inch tape. 

Track Listing:
 (Except where noted, all songs written by Reverend Freakchild
 Citizen of the Universe Music © 2018, BMI)
1. Opus Earth (4:51)
2. Personal Jesus (on the Mainline) (5:42)
 (Martin L. Gore, Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC)
3. Hippie Bluesman Blues (3:26)
4. Dial It In! (3:17)
5. Skyflower (4:15)
6. Roadtrance (3:34)
7. Damaged Souls (3:50)
8. 15 Going on 50 (3:05)
9. It’s Alright, Ma (I’m Only Bleeding) (7:04)
 (Bob Dylan Music Obo Special Rider Music)
10. Soul of a Man (3:47)
 (Traditional arranged by Rev. Freakchild)

11. Opus Space (4:55)

"His attitude is irreverent, but his enthusiasm for the blues is clear" - Living Blues Magazine 


official website:

No comments: