Thursday, February 13, 2014

Elkie Brooks..Nothin' But the Blues..collection of classic tracks by the British Queen of Blues

Elkie Brooks (born Elaine Bookbinder; 25 February 1945) is an English singer, originally the vocalist with Vinegar Joe, and later a solo artist. She gained her biggest success in the late 1970s and 1980s and has been nominated twice for Brit Awards. She is known for her powerful husky voice and hit singles such as "Pearl's a Singer", "Lilac Wine", "Don't Cry Out Loud", "Fool (If You Think It's Over)", "No More the Fool" and her top-selling album Pearls. She is generally referred to as the "The British Queen of Blues".

Nothin' But The Blues album was originally released in 1994 and is a collection of 16 classic Blues and R'n'B Songs. Elkie does these in her own unmistakable style and does justice to these timeless tracks.

1 I Ain't Got Nothin' But the Blues
2 Baby Get Lost
3 Blues For Mama
4 Baby What You Want Me to Do
5 Tell Me More Then Some
6 I'd Rather Go Blind
7 I Wonder Who
8 Ain't No Use
9 Nobody But You
10 I Love Your Lovin' Ways
11 Bad Bad Whiskey
12 Fine And Mellow
13 Me and My Gin
14 Mean And Evil
15 Trouble In Mind

16 Please Send Me Someone To Love 

No comments: