Wednesday, November 6, 2013

Muddy Waters The Johnny Winter Sessions 1976-1981

The King of American Blues, Muddy Water backed by the Prince of Blues Guitar Slingers, Johnny Winter, along with a sleu of great musicians.

2009 collection from the Blues great. Muddy is one of the undisputed giants of the post-war Chicago electric blues scene. By the mid-1970s after a period of steady worldwide touring but little quality recording activity, his studio fortunes were resuscitated by one of his legion of disciples, guitarist Johnny Winter. Backed by Winter and the likes of Pinetop Perkins, James Cotton, Jimmy Rogers, Big Walter Horton and Jerry Portnoy, Muddy just roars like a lion from go to whoa! This essential collection culls the best tracks from Hard Again, I'm Ready, King Bee and Muddy "Mississippi" Waters Live on one scintillating, 77-minute CD. Fresh and incredibly powerful, these high energy recordings still kick ass 30 years on!

1. Mannish Boy
2. I'm Ready
3. Rock Me
4. I Want to Be Loved
5. 33 Years
6. The Blues Had a Baby and They Named It Rock and Roll
7. I'm Your Hoochie Coochie Man
8. Crosseyed Cat
9. Who Do You Trust
10. Good Morning Little School Girl
11. Copper Brown
12. I Can't Be Satisfied
13. I'm a King Bee
14. Mean Old Frisco Blues
15. Champagne & Reefer
16. (My Eyes) Keep Me in Trouble
17. Baby Please Don't Go
18. Trouble No More
19. Walking Thru the Park