Wednesday, February 20, 2013

Big Mama Thornton.. Hound Dog: The Peacock Recordings

The classic "Hound Dog" is usually associated with Elvis Presley, but blues fans know: Presley's recording wasn't the first. That honor belongs to singer Big Mama Thornton, whose own recording of "Hound Dog" was eclipsed by Presley's. Her thunderous smash version is on this collection of her 1952-58 Peacock singles in all its glory, opening a CD of 17 killer tracks. Thornton's voice, by turns growling and richly melodic, was indeed unusual, and the spare accompaniment on Hound Dog makes it stand out all the more on songs such as "They Call Me Big Mama," "How Come," "The Big Change," "Hard Times," and "The Fish." Thornton had talent and attitude to spare, and both come through loud and clear on this essential collection. --Genevieve

Willie Dixon...The Big Three Trio

Meaty, Beaty, Big and Bouncy....Once upon a time, before he took to laying the cornerstone of Chicago blues, Willie Dixon was part of a well-paid touring group known as the Big Three Trio. Flanked by friends Leonard "Baby Doo" Caston and Ollie Crawford (who replaced Bernardo Dennis early on), the group's instruments act as tools unleashing the anxiety left over from World War II. This is especially true of conscientious objector Dixon's bass, thumping like Big Ben over war-torn London, offering constancy and hope of recovery...this compilation contains twenty-one enjoyable light blues and pop numbers from 1947 to 1952 sway, sashay, or boogie....Amazon review by By Yaakov (James) Mosher

1. Big 3 Boogie
2. If The Sea Was Whiskey
3. I Ain't Gonna Be Your Monkey Man
4. 88 Boogie
5. Money Tree Blues
6. Big 3 Stomp
7. Since My Baby Gone
8. Hard Notch Boogie Beat
9. No One To Love Me
10. Don't Let That Music Die
11. It's All Over Now
12. Tell That Woman
13. Got You On My Mind
14. Etiquette
15. You Don't Love Me No More
16. Come Here Baby
17. O.C. Bounce
18. Cool Kind Woman
19. Juice-Head Bartender
20. What Am I To Do
21. Signifying Monkey

Saturday, February 2, 2013

Vanguard...Roots of the Blues...various artists

45 track compilation incorporating Folk, Delta, Country and Urban Blues. Artists include Jesse Fuller, Josh White, Skip James, Bukka White, Son House, Muddy Waters, Memphis Slim, Junior Wells, Otis Rush, James Cotton, John Lee Hooker, Lightnin' Hopkins and many more.......